Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 032a09

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



PACE's Presidential Committee to visit Moscow

Strasbourg, 16.01.2009 - The Presidential Committee of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE), led by its President, Lluís Maria de Puig, will visit Moscow on 19 January 2009 as part of the follow-up to the Assembly's resolution on the consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia.

The parliamentarians are due to meet the Speaker of the State Duma Boris Gryzlov, the Chairman of the Council of the Federation Sergey Mironov, the Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov, the Deputy Head of the General Staff Anatoly Nogovitsyn, the Deputy Head of the Security Council Yury Zubakov and the Ombudsman of the Russian Federation Vladimir Lukin, as well as the members of the Russian delegation to PACE.

Following the adoption of Resolution 1633 on "The consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia" on 2 October 2008, the Assembly's Bureau asked the Presidential Committee to visit Tbilisi and Moscow for meetings with the authorities at the highest level concerning the implementation of the resolution. The visit to Tbilisi took place on 30 October 2008.

The Assembly is due to debate a new report on this question on 28 January during its Winter plenary session in Strasbourg (26-30 January 2009).

The Presidential Committee is a consultative body for the Bureau and the President of the Assembly. It consists of the President of the Assembly, the chairpersons of the five political groups (Luc van den Brande, EPP/CD; Andreas Gross, SOC; Mikhail Margelov, represented for this visit by David Wilshire, First Vice-Chairperson, EDG; Mátyás Eörsi, ALDE; Tiny Kox, represented for this visit by Jaako Laakso, former Chairperson, UEL) and the Secretary General of the Assembly, Mateo Sorinas.

<u>Statement by PACE President Lluís Maria de Puig following the visit of the Presidential Committee to Tbilisi</u>

47 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republi

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Monaco Montenearo Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Republic of Macedonia"