Ress **R**elease

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 244a07 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press

46 members



All sides should accept the ruling of Ukraine's Constitutional Court, says PACE

Strasbourg, 19.04.2007 – The urgent ruling of Ukraine's Constitutional Court in the current crisis, if delivered, should be accepted as binding by all sides, the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) said in a resolution adopted today at the end of an urgent debate attended by Ukraine's Parliamentary Speaker Oleksandr Moroz.

However, the Assembly also warned that pressure in any form on the judges of the Court was "intolerable", and should be investigated and criminally prosecuted.

In a resolution adopted by 107 votes to 5, the parliamentarians called on Ukraine's leaders and parliament to resolve the current crisis in a legitimate, strictly constitutional and peaceful manner, "whether that be by calling legitimate early elections, emanating from the ruling of the Constitutional Court, or by way of a negotiated compromise".

Early elections were a "normal practice" and could be accepted as "a key building block of the political compromise", the parliamentarians said, but only according to a legitimate procedure that allows fair campaigning and a free choice for voters.

They regretted that the government "has not complied with the formally valid decree (until proven otherwise) and has not allocated the required funding for these elections".

The Assembly criticised "personal rivalries and short-sighted fights for personal gain, linked to posts and positions" and said the reputations of all the political leaders in Ukraine was "tarnished".

It called for further constitutional reform to help resolve the current crisis and said the "imperative mandate" should be abandoned.

PACE President René van der Linden said he would visit Ukraine on 21 and 22 May, at the invitation of the Speaker Moroz, for high-level meetings.

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 315 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states. President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Mateo Sorinas. Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom