Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 325a06

46 members

Croatia

France

Ireland

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Presidents of Congress Statutory Committees newly elected

Albania Strasbourg, 02.06.2006 - At its plenary session, the Council of Europe

Andorra Congress elected the new Presidents of its Statutory Committees. Armenia

Austria **Institutional Committee** Azerbaijan

Belgium Chair: WHITMORE Keith, United Kingdom (ILDG) Bosnia and Vice-Chair: BEHR Karsten, Germany (EPP/CD) Herzegovina

Vice-Chair PEREVERZEVA Irina, Russian Federation (SOC) Bulgaria

Cyprus Committee on culture and education Czech Republic Chair: ZACH Hilde Austria (EPP/CD) Denmark Vice-Chair: FÄLDT Brith, Sweden (SOC) Estonia

Vice-Chair: MUKHAMETSHIN Farid, Russian Federation (ILDG) Finland

Georgia Committee on sustainable development Germany Chair: DOGANOGLU Gaye, Turkey (EPP/CD)

Greece Vice-Chair: KADOKHOV Valery, Russian Federation (SOC) Hungary Vice-Chair: VAN VAERENBERGH Etienne, Belgium (ILDG) Iceland

Italy Committee on social cohesion

Latvia Chair: PRIGNACHI Valerio, Italy (EPP/CD) Liechtenstein Vice-Chair: HAIDER Erich, Austria (SOC) Lithuania

Luxembourg Vice-Chair: ROGOV Viatcheslav, Russian Federation (ILDG) Malta Moldova

Monaco More information about the structure and work of Committees: Netherlands http://www.coe.int/T/Congress/1-Presentation/commissions en.asp

Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia" Turkev Ukraine United Kingdom