Press release - 161(2006)

Council of Europe Congress to observe local and regional elections in Ukraine

Strasbourg, 22.03.2006 – A delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is to visit Ukraine from 23 to 27 March to observe the country’s local and regional elections on 26 March.

On 23, 24 and 25 March, the delegation will meet Yaroslav Davydovych, Chair of the Ukrainian Central Electoral Commission, Anatoliy Tkachuk, Adviser to the Ukrainian President and head of the main regional policy department, and Igor Popov, Chair of the Committee of Voters. The delegation will also meet representatives of the government, opposition parties and international organisations, media representatives, international observers and regional political parties, as well as candidates standing against outgoing mayors in several Ukrainian cities.

On the same dates, a 37-member delegation from the Parliamentary Assembly headed by Renate Wohlwend (Liechtenstein, EPP/CD) will observe the parliamentary elections alongside observers from the OSCE, the European Parliament and NATO.

The Congress observers will also hold a press conference at the “House of Teachers” at 4.30 pm on Monday 27 March (time to be confirmed).

Membership of the delegation:

Socialist Group (SOC): 5 members

Sean O’Brien (Ireland)

Fabio Pellegrini (Italy)

Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania)

Anatoly Saltykov (Russian Federation)

Alain Chénard (France)

EPP/CD Group: 7 members

Pascal Mangin (France)

Giorgi Mosidze (Georgia)

Ian Micallef (Malta)

Marja Van der Tas (Netherlands)

Omür Aybar (Turkey)

Susan Bolam (United Kingdom)

Wim Van Gelder (Netherlands)

ILDG Liberal Group: 2 members

Giuseppe Magni (Italy)

David Lloyd-Williams (United Kingdom)

Non-registered: 2 members

Michael Neureiter (Austria)

Zeljko Ozegovic (Serbia and Montenegro)

Council of Europe Press Division

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60

Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11