Press release – 100(2007)

Some 500 leading experts worldwide in anti-money laundering gather together in Strasbourg

Strasbourg, 14.02.2007 – From 21 to 23 February the Council of Europe will be hosting the first joint meeting of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and the Council of Europe Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures (MONEYVAL).

With the aim of strengthening international co-operation in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing, the approximately 500 participants will study the FATF's mutual evaluation report on Turkey, MONEYVAL's third-round mutual evaluation report on Georgia and a progress report submitted by Cyprus. Reports from Armenia and Azerbaijan will be considered also by MONEYVAL.

Other items on the agenda are abuse of Value Added Tax systems for money laundering and money-laundering in South America.

Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe, will open the meeting at 9 a.m. on Wednesday 21 February (only this part of the meeting is open to the press).

Twenty-seven of the 46 member states of the Council of Europe are currently members of the MONEYVAL Committee (*). The FATF has 33 members (**).

For further information please consult the special file:

Press contacts:
Estelle Steiner, Press Division, Council of Europe
Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 33 35, mobile + 33 (0)6 08 46 01 57,
Helen Fisher, Media Relations Division, OECD
Tel. +33 (0)1 45 24 80 97,

(*) Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Ukraine.

      (**) Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, the European Commission, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, the Gulf Co-operation Council, Hong Kong - China, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States. The People's Republic of China, India and the Korean Republic are Observers.

Council of Europe Press Division
Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60
Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11