Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Communication Division Ref: MA135a09 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 50 86 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

COUNCIL CONSEIL OF EUROPE

10.11.2009

Congress and Committee of the Regions to sign new cooperation agreement

Date: 12 November 2009

Location: Brussels (Belgium)

Description: Ian Micallef, President a.i. of the Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, and Congress Secretary General a.i Wojciech Sawicki will meet Luc Van den Brande, President of the EU Committee of the Regions, and Committee Secretary General Gerhard Stahl, for the second meeting of the Presidents of the two institutions assisted by their Secretaries General. This new cooperation practice was launched last year, with the first bipartite meeting held in Brussels on 20 June 2008.

The Presidents will sign the revised Cooperation Agreement between the Congress and the Committee of the Regions, first concluded in April 2005. The new agreement formalises methods of cooperation between the two institutions, taking into account the Memorandum of Understanding between the European Union and the Council of Europe, signed on 23 May 2007.

The agreement confers the leading role in giving policy orientation and defining thematic priorities for cooperation on the Presidents of the Congress and the Committee of the Regions. In this mission, they are assisted by the Secretaries General of the two bodies.

The Contact Group "Congress/Committee of the Regions", meeting twice a year, is charged with establishing, based on priorities mapped out by the annual bipartite meeting, a work programme which is then implemented by respective committees, commissions and working groups. The Contact Group can add more specific activities to meet new needs.

In addition, the revised agreement reaffirms the principle of complementarity between the Congress and the Committee of the Regions and respect for each other's competences and nature. It stipulates that any decision on the lead role within joint projects will be taken on the basis of the specific remits and experiences of both parties.

The signing ceremony is scheduled to take place at 4.30 pm in Room 8065 at the headquarters of the Committee of the Regions (the Jacques Delors Building, 101 rue Belliard, Brussels). The photos of the meeting will be available on the website of the BELGA news agency: <u>http://picture.belga.be/picture-home/index.html</u>

Press contacts

Renate Zikmund, Head of the Congress Division of Communication, International Relations and Election Observation, tel. +33 3 90 21 44 03; <u>renate.zikmund@coe.int</u>

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD). Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD),

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).