## Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Communication Division Ref: MA128a10 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int



Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom



23.11.2010

## Monitoring of local and regional democracy in Bulgaria

Dates: from 24 to 26 November 2010

Location: Sofia, VelikoTarnovo, Pernik

**Description:** The Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will carry out a general monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Bulgaria. This visit is part of the Congress' procedure for monitoring the implementation of the European Charter of Local Self-Government, which Bulgaria ratified in 1995.

Congress Rapporteurs Artur Torres Pereira (Portugal, EPP/CD) and Johan Sauwens (Belgium, EPP/CD) will meet Deputy Minister of Regional Development and Public Works Ekaterina Zaharieva, Deputy Minister of Finance Boryana Pencheva and Minister responsible for EU funds management Tomislav Donchev.

In the Bulgarian Parliament, the delegation will meet Tsetska Tsacheva Dangovska, Speaker of the National Assembly, Lyuben Petrov Tatarski, Chair of the Assembly's Committee on Regional Policy and Local Self Government and Menda Kirilova Stoyanova, Chair of the Budget and Finance Committee.

The Rapporteurs will hold meetings with Mayor of Sofia Yordanka Fandukova, Mayor of Veliko Tarnovo Rumen Rashev and Rositsa Yanakieva, Mayor of Pernik and Head of the Bulgarian Delegation to the Congress, as well as with Dora Yankova, Mayor of Smolyan and President of the Board of Directors of the National Association of Municipalities (NAMRB), mayors representing this Association, and representatives of the regional associations of municipalities "Central Stara Planina" and "Yantra".

Meetings are also scheduled with President of the Constitutional Court Evgeni Petrov Tanchev, President of the National Audit Office Valeriy Dimotrov and Human Rights Ombudsman Konstantin Penchev.

Following the visit, a report will be submitted to the Congress' Monitoring Committee.

The Congress' latest <u>recommendation</u> on the situation of local and regional democracy in Bulgaria was adopted in May 1998.

\* \* \*

## Contact in Sofia:

Marité Moras, Secretariat of the Congress, mobile: +33 6 50 39 29 07

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).