Media Advisory

Directorate of Communication

Ref: MA101a10

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 39 11 Internet: www.coe.int e-mail: pressunit@coe.int



29.09.2010

47 member States

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein

> Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino

> > Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom

3rd European Heritage Forum in Istanbul - "Cultural Heritage, Participation, Prosperity"

Date: 1-2 October 2010

Place: Istanbul

Opening ceremony: 1 October, 7 pm, Aya Irini museum, Saray içi, Sultanahmet/Istanbul Beginning of proceedings: 2 October, 9 am, Haliç Kongre Merkezi (Haliç Congress Centre), Eski Karaağaç caddesi, Sütlüce - Beyoğlu/Istanbul

Organised by: the Council of Europe and the European Commission, in cooperation with the Turkish Ministry of Culture and Tourism

Description: Beyond the aspect dealing purely with its protection, how can the heritage be integrated in the social and cultural dynamics of a community to become a driving force within it? An analysis of heritage from this angle at the 3rd European Heritage Forum, on the theme "Cultural Heritage, Participation, Prosperity", will form a contribution to European Year for Combating Poverty and Social Exclusion. The Forum will also mark the 25th anniversary of the European Heritage Days, devised on 3 October 1985 at the 2nd Council of Europe Conference of Ministers responsible for the architectural heritage in Granada (Spain).

The Forum will be opened by Ertuğrul Günay, Turkish Minister of Culture and Tourism, Elizabeta Kanceska-Milevska, Minister of Culture of "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", representing the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, Mevlüt Çavuşoğlu, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, Ian Micallef, President a.i. of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, Kadir Topbaş, Mayor of Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality, Mustafa Demir, Mayor of Fatih – Istanbul, and Marc Pierini, Head of Delegation of the European Union to Turkey. Maud de Boer-Buquicchio, Deputy Secretary General of the Council of Europe will send a video message.

The Forum programme and additional information are available in the Forum file.

Contact: Can Fişek, Directorate of Communication Tel. +33 (0)6 75 65 03 41 can.fisek@coe.int