Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Communication Division

Ref: MA073a10

Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51

Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int



Strasbourg, 25.06.2010

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan

Belgium

Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia

Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark

Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland

Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg

Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands

Malta

Netherlands
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russia
San Marino

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Ukraine United Kingdom

Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey

Albania **Moni**

Monitoring of local and regional democracy in Serbia

Dates: from 29 June to 1 July 2010

Location: Belgrade, Novi Sad and Novi Pazar

Description: The Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will carry out its first monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in Serbia since it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2007.

Congress Rapporteurs Odd Kvalöy (Norway, NR) and Christopher Newbury (United Kingdom, EPP/CD) will meet: Slavica Djukic Dejanovic, Speaker of the Serbian Parliament; Dragoljub Micunovic, Head of the Parliament's Foreign Affairs Caucus and Jovan Palalic, Head of the Local Self Government Caucus; Bosa Nenadic, President of the Constitutional Court; Diana Dragutinovic, Minister of Finance; and Natasa Corbic, Director of the National Council of Decentralization.

In Belgrade, meetings are also scheduled with: Aleksandar Antic, President of the City Assembly of Belgrade and its members; Djordje Stanicic, Secretary General of the Standing Conference of Towns and Municipalities and its Conference Vice-President, Nenad Milenkovic; as well as representatives of the Ministry of Public Administration and Local Self Government.

In Novi Sad, the Congress delegation will meet: Sandor Egeresi and Maja Sedlarevic, respectively Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Assembly of Vojvodina; Boris Barjaktarovic, Vice President of the Vojvodina Executive Council and Provincial Secretary for Regional and International Cooperation; Dejan Avdalovic, Advisor to the President of Vojvodina; Aleksandar Popov, Director of the Center for Regionalism; and Stanka Parac-Damjanovic, Director of the Local Democracy Agency in Subotica.

In Novi Pazar, the delegation will also meet: Meho Mahmutovic, Mayor of Novi Pazar and his Cabinet Chief, Mirsad Jusufovic; the Mayors of Sjenica and Tutin; and representatives from the Novi Pazar Civil Society.

Following the visit, a report will be submitted to the Congress' Institutional Committee.

* * *

In November 2001, the Congress adopted a report on the situation of local and regional democracy in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Contact in Serbia:

Lilit Nikoghosyan, Secretariat of the Congress, mobile: +33 6 50 39 29 10