Media Advisory

Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Communication Division Ref: 033a10 Tel. +33 (0)3 90 21 52 40 Fax +33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 Internet: www.coe.int/congress e-mail: congress.com@coe.int

47 member States

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan **Belgium** Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus **Czech Republic** Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy I atvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

COUNCIL CONSEIL OF EUROPE CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

14.04.2010

Congress delegation on a second monitoring visit to Russia

Dates: from 14 to 15 April 2010

Location: Moscow, Chelyabinsk

Description: The Council of Europe Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will carry out a general monitoring mission to assess the state of local and regional democracy in the Russian Federation. This visit follows the first one in December 2009, under the second cycle of monitoring for this country since it ratified the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1998.

In Moscow, Congress Rapporteurs Christopher Newbury (United Kingdom, L, EPP/CD) and Knud Andersen (Denmark, R, ILDG) will meet experts on local self-government, members of the opposition and representatives of the media and civil society.

In Chelyabinsk, meetings will be held with Governor of the Chelyabinsk Region Mikhail Yurevich, Head of the City Administration Sergei Davydov, Chair of the City Council Boris Vidgof and Chair of the Council's Committee on Local Self-Government Alexei Sevastyanov. The delegation will also meet members of the opposition and representatives of the media and civil society.

Following the visit, a report will be submitted to the Congress' Institutional Committee.

The Congress' latest recommendation on the situation of local and regional democracy in Russia was adopted in May 2004. In November 2007, the Congress held an exchange of view with Russian Vice-Minister of Regional Development Vitaly Shipov on the recommendation's implementation.

Contact in Moscow and Chelyabinsk:

Tim Lisney, Secretariat of the Congress mobile: +33 6 50 39 29 07

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress: Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD). Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD),

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).