Resolution CM/Res(2009)4
on the appointment of the Secretary General

(Adopted by the Committee of Ministers on 12 May 2009
at the 119th Session)

The Committee of Ministers, under the terms of Article 36.b of the Statute of the Council of Europe,

Having regard to the Regulations relating to the appointment of the Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General and Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly having the rank of Deputy Secretary General;

Having regard to the decisions taken at the 117th Ministerial Session (May 2007);

Having examined the four candidatures presented by the Governments of Norway, Belgium, Hungary and Poland;

Having interviewed the four candidates;

Having consulted the representatives of the Parliamentary Assembly in the Joint Committee,

Decides to transmit to the Parliamentary Assembly, for appointment to the post of Secretary General, with effect from 1 September 2009, the following candidatures, listed in alphabetical order, with the names of the sponsoring governments in brackets:

- Mr Włodzimierz CIMOSZEWICZ (Poland);
- Mr Thorbjørn JAGLAND (Norway).


  Related Documents
   Other documents