1142nd meeting – 9 May 2012

Item 6.1

European Social Charter – European Committee of Social Rights (ECSR) –
Procedure for the election of five members


The Deputies

1. adopted the following procedure for filling the five seats on the European Committee of Social Rights falling vacant on 31 December 2012, the terms for these seats beginning on 1 January 2013 and ending on 31 December 2018:

a. each Contracting Party to the European Social Charter or Revised European Social Charter may submit to the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, no later than 28 September 2012, the name of a candidate it deems suitable for the vacant seats, bearing in mind that these seats concern Groups I (two seats), II (one seat), III (one seat) and V (one seat), and having regard to Article 25 of the Charter as it appears in Article 3 of the Protocol amending the European Social Charter and to the agreed rules concerning nationality,1 and taking into account Recommendation Rec(81)6 of the Committee of Ministers adopted on 30 April 1981;2

b. the Secretary General will then forward the list of nominations to the Committee of Ministers, which will hold an election by secret ballot at one of its meetings in the autumn of 2012;

c. the candidate or candidates obtaining the simple majority of the votes within the meaning of Article 10.4 of the Rules of Procedure for the meetings of the Ministers’ Deputies (i.e. half of the number of the Deputies entitled to vote, plus one) and the highest number of votes will be declared elected;

d. if one seat, or more, remain(s) vacant after the first vote, there will be a second round of voting. The candidate(s) having obtained the highest number of votes will be declared elected;

2. agreed, for the purposes of this election, to allocate the 47 member States as follows:3

Group I (three seats): two seats vacant

Armenia, Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Slovakia and Switzerland.

Group II (three seats): one seat vacant

Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Luxembourg, Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Romania and Turkey.

Group III (three seats): one seat vacant

Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Norway, Sweden and United Kingdom

Group IV (three seats): no seats vacant

Albania, Andorra, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, San Marino and Spain.

Group V (three seats): one seat vacant

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Poland, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and Ukraine.

1 The Committee may consist of no more than one member of any particular nationality.

2 The recommendation covers the participation of men and women in an equitable proportion in committees and other bodies set up in the Council of Europe.

3 States that have ratified the Charter or Revised Charter are shown in bold type in the text.



  Related Documents