

T +33(0)390214895 www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int Ref. CG-PR 086 (2013)

Congress delegation monitors grassroots democracy in Armenia

Strasbourg, 25 November 2013 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit to Armenia from 26 to 29 November 2013.

Congress Rapporteurs Nigel MERMAGEN (United Kingdom, ILDG) and Ludmila SFIRLOAGA (Romania, SOC) will examine the follow-up to the commitments undertaken in the field of territorial democracy and decentralisation, with regard to Armenia's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2002.

On 26 November, high level meetings are scheduled with the Vice Prime Minister and Minister of Territorial Administration of Armenia, Armen GEVORGYAN, and the First Deputy Minister of Finance, Pavel SAFARYAN, as well as the Chairman of the Control Chamber, Ishkan ZAKARYAN and representatives of local NGOs and associations.

On 27 November, rapporteurs will also hold meetings with the Vice President of the National Assembly, Eduard SHARMAZANOV and the Chairs of Parliamentary Committees of the National Assembly as well as the First Deputy Minister of Justice and the Alterate member to the Venice Commission, Grigor MURADYAN. In addition, the Congress delegation will discuss with representatives of international organizations active in the sphere of Local Government as well as representatives of the City Hall of Yerevan and the Council of Elders. Finally, on 28 November, rapporteurs will exchange with the Mayor of Ashtarak, Armen ANTONTYAN and the Mayor of OSHAKAN, Aram NERSISYAN.

Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel Secretary of the Congress Monitoring Committee +33 (0)6 63 55 07 10

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)