

T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR063(2013)

Congress delegation heads for the first part of the monitoring mission in the United Kingdom

Strasbourg, 29.05.2013 - The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is carrying out the first part of the monitoring visit to the United Kingdom from 28 May to 1 June 2013. Congress Rapporteurs Angelika Kordfelder (Germany, SOC) and Alexander Uss (Russian Federation, EPP/CCE) will review the implementation of the commitments made by the UK in the field of local self-government and decentralisation, upon the ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in April 1998.

Meetings will be held in London and Leeds from 28 to 30 May, in particular with local elected representatives and members of the UK delegation to the Congress, as well as with members of Associations of local authorities.

On 31 May in Edinburgh the delegation will meet the Minister for Local Government and Planning of Scotland and members of the Scottish Parliament.

The second part of the monitoring visit will be held on 21 and 22 October 2013.

A report on the situation of local and regional democracy in the United Kingdom will be discussed at a future Congress session.

In addition, the Monitoring Committee will also meet on 3 July, in Tbilisi (Georgia), and will review reports on the situation of local and/or regional democracy in Hungary, Ireland, Albania and Ukraine. The recommendations will be adopted at the 25th Session of the Congress, in October 2013, in Strasbourg.

More information on the European Charter of Local Self-Government

Contact on the spot:

Ms. Sedef Cankoçak Co-Secretary of the Monitoring Committee of the Congress Mobile: + 33 6 50 39 29 10 E-mail: <u>sedef.cankocak@coe.int</u>

Follow us: 🔊 🖸 flickr You Tube

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)