T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 62 (2015)

Georgia's Minister for Regional Development and Infrastructure signs road map on local democracy with the Congress

Tbilisi, 16.12.2015 – The President of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, Jean-Claude Frécon, and Georgia's Minister for Regional Development and Infrastructure, Nodar Javakhishvili, on 16 December 2015 signed a road map on the implementation of the monitoring recommendations concerning Georgia. The signing of the road map follows on from the recommendation on the situation of local and regional democracy in Georgia (Recommendation 334 (2013)) and the post-monitoring dialogue conducted in recent months.

On the same occasion, the Congress President and the two rapporteurs, Nigel Mermagen (United Kingdom, ILDG), rapporteur on local democracy, and Helena Pihlajasaari (Finland, SOC), rapporteur on regional democracy, will meet the President of Georgia, Giorgi Margvelashvili, the Speaker of the Georgian Parliament, David Usupashvili, and the Finance Minister, Nodar Khaduri.

Meetings are also planned with David Narmania, Mayor of Tbilisi, and David Jikia, President of the National Association of Local Authorities of Georgia.

The first road map of this kind was signed with the Ukrainian government in May 2015, followed by one with the Portuguese government in September.

Other post-monitoring dialogues are in progress with the governments of Armenia and the Republic of Moldova. They should also lead to the preparation of road maps for the implementation of the Congress's recommendations, in early 2016.

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 324 full and 324 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CCE), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)