T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 056 (2014)

2nd Congress visit in order to examine the situation of local and regional democracy in Greece

Strasbourg, 18 November 2014- A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, composed of Artur Torres Pereira (Portugal EPP/CCE) and Gudrun Mosler Törnström (Austria, SOC) will conduct a monitoring visit from 18th until 20th November in Greece. This visit rounds out the first monitoring visit made between 16th and 17th September 2014. The purpose is to examine the achievements on the commitment of Greece in the field of Local and Regional Democracy and Decentralization taken from its ratification of the European Charter of Local Self Government in 1989.

On 18 November several meetings are scheduled at local level notably with the mayors of Paros and Naxos and Small Cyclades Islands, as well as the Director of the Financial Department of the Municipality of Naxos.

On 19 November, the delegation will also meet with deputy Mayors of Lagadas as well as with the Mayor of Thessaloniki.

Finally on 20 November, the delegation will hold talks with the Mayor of Athens, the President of the National Centre for Public Administration and Local Government (EKDDA), the Representative of the President of Central Union of Municipalities of Greece, as well as the representatives of the Central Union of Municipalities of Greece and the Union of Greek Regions.

Greece had ratified the European Local Autonomy Charter on 6th September 1989. The countries which have ratified the Charter are bound by its provisions. The Charter requires the compliance with a minimum number of principles that form a European foundation of local democracy. The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities make sure that these principles are observed.

<u>File "Local and Regional Democracy Monitoring"</u> European Charter of Local Democracy

Contact:

Stéphanie Poirel
Secretary to the Monitoring Committee
+33 6 63 55 07 10
Stephanie.poirel@coe.int

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Anders Knape (Sweden, EPP/CCE), President of the Chamber of Regions: Gudrun Mosler-Törnström (Austria, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists

Group (ECR)