

Ref. CG-PR041(2011)

Congress delegation heading for monitoring mission to assess territorial democracy in Portugal

Strasbourg, 04.11.2011 – The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will carry out a monitoring visit in Portugal from 7 to 9 November 2011. Congress Rapporteurs, Devrim ÇUKUR (SOC, Turkey) and Jos WIENEN (EPP/CD, The Netherlands) will examine the follow-up to commitments undertaken in the field of territorial democracy and decentralisation with regard to Portugal's ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 1990. In particular, they will focus on the country's response to the recommendations to the Portuguese authorities following the last Congress general monitoring visit in 2003 as well as to the conclusions of the fact finding mission carried out in 2008.

The delegation will meet in particular the Portuguese delegation to the Congress and representatives of the associations of local authorities, as well as the Secretary of State for Local Administration and Administrative Reform and representatives of Parliamentary Committees. Meetings are also scheduled with the President of the Court of Audit and the President of the Constitutional Court as well as representatives of the Ombudsman and the Ministry for Finance and Public Administration.

Meetings will also be held with the Mayors of Lisbon, Coimbra Porto and Vila Nova de Poiares and with the President of the Lisbon Metropolitan Area.

## Contact on the spot:

Stéphanie Poirel, Secretariat of the Congress, +33 6 50 39 29 16

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.

It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).