

T +33(0)390214895

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR028(2012)

Congress to observe local elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Strasbourg, 2 October 2012 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, headed by Rapporteur Amy KOOPMANSCHAP, Netherlands (L, SOC) - including members of the EU-Committee of the Regions and a member of the French Association of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions - will carry out an observation mission to Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) from 4 to 8 October 2012 and observe the vote on 7 October. With a view to these elections, a pre-electoral mission was carried out on 18 and 19 September.

On 4 and 5 October, the delegation will meet, in particular, with Branko PETRIĆ, the President of the BiH Central Election Commission, as well as the Head of the BiH Congress delegation and Vice-President of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), Svetozar PUDARIĆ. In addition, meetings are scheduled with representatives of the diplomatic community in Sarajevo, NGOs and the media.

On 6 October, field meetings with members of Municipal Electoral Committees, outposts of international organisations and with candidates for the local elections are planned.

On Election Day, nine Congress teams will be deployed to different areas to observe these local elections throughout the country.

The Congress delegation will present its preliminary findings in a press conference on Monday 8 October 2012 at 10:30 local time - in Hotel Europa, Atrium (Sarajevo).

Members of the delegation

Congress

 Amy KOOPMANSCHAP, Netherlands (L, SOC) Teresa ARCINIEGA, Spain (R, EPP/CD) Enzo BROGI, Italy (R, SOC) Stewart DICKSON, United Kingdom (R, ILDG) Gaye DOGANOGLU, Turkey (L, EPP/CD) Dominique GAMBIER, France (R, SOC) Phillip GROVE, United Kingdom (L, ECR) Aldis HAFSTEINSDOTTIR, Iceland (L, ECR) Vincent McHUGH, Ireland (L, ILDG) Viacheslav ROGOV, Russian Federation (L, ILDG) Raymond TABONE, Malta (L, SOC) Renate ZIKMUND, Head of the Division of Communication and Election Observation Jane DUTTON-EARLY, Assistant to the Election Observation Mission

French Association of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions

Pierre BAUCHET, Mayor - Fleury les Aubrais (Centre - Loiret) •

EU - Committee of the Regions

• Uno SILBERG, Estonia (EA) Jelena DRENJANIN, Sweden (EPP) Stewart MAXWELL, United Kingdom (EA) Declan MCDONNELL, Ireland (ALDE) Klaus BOELE, Secretariat of the Committee of the Regions

Contacts on spot

Division of Communication and Election Observation, Congress of the Council of Europe, Strasbourg Renate Zikmund, Head of the Division of Communication and Election Observation mobile: + 33 6 59 78 64 55 E-mail: Renate.ZIKMUND@coe.int

Council of Europe Office in Sarajevo

Mary Ann HENNESSEY, Head of Office Tel: + 387 33 233 938 E-mail: <u>mary-ann.hennessey@coe.int</u>

Follow us: 🔊 🖸 flickr You Tube

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).