T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.com@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR019(2012)

Council of Europe Congress on observation mission of partial local elections in Armenia

Strasbourg, 6 September 2012 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, headed by Henry FERAL, France, (L, EPP/CD) including members of the EU Committee of the Regions - will carry out an observation mission of partial local elections in Armenia from 7 to 9 September 2012. A larger delegation will be deployed in the country from 20 to 24 September to observe the elections in other municipalities.

On 7 and 8 September, briefings are planned, in particular, in Yerevan, with Mr Armen GEVORGYAN, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Territorial Administration, Mr Tigran MUKUCHYAN Chairman of the Central Electoral Commission of Armenia, and Mr Emin YERITSYAN, President of the Communities Association of Armenia.

The delegation will also meet with representatives of the diplomatic corps, the EU delegation, and the OSCE Office in Armenia. In addition, meetings are planned with the political groups of the Armenian Parliament, representatives of civil society, NGOs and the media.

Members of the delegation:

Congress

Henry FERAL, France (L,EPP/CD), Head of delegation/Rapporteur Ludmila SFIRLOAGA, Romania (R,SOC) Irmeli HENTTONEN, Finland (L,ILDG)

EU-Committee of the Regions Brian Meaney, Ireland, EA

Contact on the spot:

Council of Europe Office in Armenia, Tel: +374 10 54 63 22 / +374 10 54 63 26





The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial

President of the Congress: Keith Whitmore (United Kingdom, ILDG), President of the Chamber of Regions: Herwig van Staa (Austria, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC)

Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party - Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).