T +33(0)390214895

www.coe.int/congress

congress.web@coe.int

Ref. CG-PR 001 (2014)

Congress delegation to visit Belgium for the second part of the local and regional democracy monitoring process

In the second part of the monitoring visit to Belgium from 4 to 6 February 2014, Henrik Hammar (Sweden, EPP/CCE) and Urs Wüthrich-Pelloli (Switzerland, SOC), rapporteurs of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities, will be looking at the action taken by Belgium to honour the commitments entered into upon ratification of the European Charter of Local Self-Government in 2004 and at the 6th State Reform, adopted in December 2013 by the two chambers of the Belgian parliament. The first part of monitoring process took place on 8 and 9 October 2013.

The main thrust of this reform comprises significant transfers of powers and financial resources from the federal government to the Regions and Communities, reform of the Finance Law, the refinancing and internal reorganisation of the Brussels Capital Region, and the change in the role of the Senate. The Chamber of Representatives still has to state its opinion on numerous texts giving practical form to the provisions of this new reform, due to come into effect on 1 July 2014.

On 4 February, the delegation will meet Kris Peeters and Geert Bourgeois, Minister-President and Deputy Minister-President respectively of the Flemish government, and the Speakers of the parliaments of the Flemish Region, the Brussels-Capital region, the French Community and Wallonia.

On 5 February meetings will be held with Koen Geens, the Finance Minister, representatives of the Walloon government and the ombudsmen of the communities and municipalities.

Finally, on 6 February, the rapporteurs will meet Roger Stevens, First President of the State Council, Karl-Heinz Lambertz, Minister-President of the German-speaking Community as well as the Speaker of the German-speaking Parliament, representatives of the Brussels-Capital Region and the Presidents of the Constitutional Court.

Programme

Contact:

Stéphanie POIREL, Secretary of the Congress's Monitoring Committee:

Mobile: +33663550710

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress: Herwig Van Staa (Austria, EPP/DC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Nataliya Romanova (Ukraine, IDLG), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities: Jean-Claude Frécon (France, SOC) Political Groups: Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD), Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG), European Conservatives & Reformists Group (ECR)