# Ress Release

# **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Ref: 275a06

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



#### 46 members

### Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia

Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece

Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland

Portugal Romania

Russia San Marino

Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia

Spain Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

## Szeged in Hungary wins the 2006 Europe Prize

Strasbourg, 12.05.2006 - The 2006 Europe Prize has been awarded to the Hungarian town of Szeged in the Csongrad District. The decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in Paris.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town or local authority for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.

This university town, situated on the country's southern border, neighbouring Romania and Serbia and Montenegro, is the main town of Csongrad County. It is twinned with eleven other European towns, including former winners of the Europe Prize, such as Darmstadt (Germany), and the Flag of Honour, such as Cambridge (United Kingdom), Odessa (Ukraine), Timisoara and Tirgu Mures (Romania).

European events of major importance have marked the city's history: the festival of twinned towns, a new twinning arrangement with Pula (Croatia), the launch of the European campaign "Szeged is the gateway to Europe" and the recent commemoration of the 125th anniversary of the Great Flood which struck the town in 1879.

Szeged, which was already awarded the Flag of Honour in 2000 and the Plaque of Honour in 2002, is the first Hungarian town to receive this award.

The **Plaque of Honour**, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize, was awarded to ten towns:

Germany Bamberg (Bavaria)

Borken (North-Rhine-Westphalia)

Celle (Lower Saxony)

Recklinghausen (North-Rhine-Westphalia) Kiskunfelegyhaza (Bacs-Kiskun District)

Hungary Corciano (Province of Perugia) Italy Poland Gniezno (woj. Wielkopolskie)

Rakoniewice (woj. Wielkopolskie)

Portugal Vila Real

Orastie (Hunedoara dep.) Romania

./..

### The Flag of Honour was awarded to 25 municipalities this year:

Bad Schallerbach (Upper Austria) Austria

France Aÿ-Champagne (Marne), together with Besigheim (D)

Besançon (Doubs)

Châteaubernard (Charente)

Raon l'Etape (Vosges), together with Kuppenheim (D)

Villebon-sur-Yvette (Essonne)

Germany Besigheim (Baden-Wurttemberg), together with Ay-Champagne (F)

Demmin (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)

Durach (Bavaria) Fürth (Bavaria)

Hamm (North-Rhine-Westphalia)

Kuppenheim (Baden-Wurtemberg), together with Raon l'Etape (F)

Lohmen (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern) Obrigheim (Baden-Wurttemberg) Rheine (North-Rhine-Westphalia)

Windberg (Bavaria)

Hungary Köszeg (Vas County)

Italy Bagnacavallo (Province of Ravenna)

Latvia Saldus

Poland Będzin (woj. Śląskie)

Kołobrzeg (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)

Łódź (woj. Łódźkie)

Oradea (Bihor County) Romania

Neuchâtel (Canton of Neuchâtel) Switzerland

Bracknell (Berkshire) UK

#### 27 municipalities were granted the **European Diploma**:

Czech Rep. Zubři (Ysetín district)

France Clichy-la-Garenne (Hauts-de-Seine)

Granville (Manche)

La Celle Saint-Cloud (Yvelines)

Rouen (Seine-Maritime)

Savigny (Rhône)

Beilngries (Bavaria) Germany

> Bellheim (Rhineland-Palatinate) Ellwangen (Baden-Wurttemberg) Friedland (Lower Saxony) Gerbrunn (Bavaria)

Hammelburg (Bavaria) Staufenberg (Lower Saxony) Wissen (Rhineland-Palatinate)

Lithuania **Alytus** 

Druskininkai Neringa **Panevezys** Silute Trakai

Netherlands Haaksbergen (Overijssel) Poland

Lębork (woj. Pomorskie)

Mrągowo (woj. Warmińsko-Mazurskie)

Rudniki (woj. Opolskie)

Święciechowa (woj. Wielkopolskie)

Romania Satu Mare

Hatfield (Hertfordshire) UK