Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 185a06

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Moldova must rapidly adopt legislation in the field of freedom of religion

Strasbourg, 29.03.2006 - The Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe yesterday adopted an Interim Resolution urging the Moldovan authorities rapidly to finalise the ongoing work with a view to enacting new legislation regulating the registration and functioning of religious denominations. Such legislation is necessary in order to effectively prevent new violations of the European Convention on Human Rights similar to the ones found in the case of *Metropolitan Church of Bessarabia and Others v. Moldova* (judgment of 13 December 2001).

While noting important improvements included in the latest draft Bill which is presently pending before Parliament, the Committee nevertheless pointed to a number of shortcomings which still appear to affect the registration procedure. The Committee therefore encouraged the Moldovan authorities rapidly to solve the outstanding issues, also taking into account the opinions expressed by the Council of Europe experts, in order to achieve a legislative reform compliant with the requirements of the European Convention on Human Rights in the field of freedom of religion.

Full text of Interim Resolution

Under the European Convention on Human Rights, the European Court's judgments require respondent states - under the supervision of the Committee of Ministers - to adopt all necessary measures to grant the applicants appropriate redress and to prevent further similar violations in the future.

46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein

Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia and Montenegro Slovakia Slovenia

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

"The former Yug Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Spain Sweden