Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 851a08

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



End of the Swedish Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers: tangible results

Strasbourg, 27.11.2008 – The six-month Swedish Chairmanship of the Council of Europe Committee of Ministers came to an end today at a special meeting in Strasbourg.

Under the joint chairmanship of Carl Bildt, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden, and Miguel Angel Moratinos, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Spain, who is taking over from him, the Ministers' Deputies of the 47 member states took a number of specific decisions as a result of Sweden's active Chairmanship.

The Deputies:

- adopted the <u>Priorities for future action in co-operation with the European Union</u>, in anticipation of an overall assessment of relations between the two organisations that was to be presented at the 119th ministerial session in Madrid on 12 May 2009;
- took note of a study entitled "<u>The Council of Europe and the Rule of Law An Overview"</u> and decided to publish it;
- adopted the <u>2009-2011 Strategy for "Building a Europe for and with children"</u>, took note of the relevant programme of activities and invited member states to appoint a national contact for children's rights with whom the Council could co-operate;
- adopted the <u>Council of Europe Convention on Access to Official</u>
 <u>Documents</u>, while taking note of the Opinion of the Parliamentary
 Assembly on the subject;
- adopted the <u>Declaration by the Committee of Ministers on the Code</u> of Good Practice on Referendums.

Report on the Swedish Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers

The Swedish Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers

Press contact: Henriette Girard, Council of Europe Press Service, Tel. +33 3 88 41 21 41; Mobile. +33 6 75 65 03 39; henriette.girard@coe.int

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus

Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein

Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Montenegro
Netherlands
Norway

Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia

Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Macedonia"