## Ress Release

## **Council of Europe Press Division**

Ref: 836a08

47 members

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press

## Council of Europe anti-torture Committee: visits in 2009

COUNCIL

OF EUROPE

CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE

Strasbourg, 25.11.2008 - In 2009, as part of its programme of "periodic" visits, the European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CPT) intends to examine the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty in the following ten countries:

• Austria (2004)

•	Austria	(2004)
•	Belgium	(2005)
•	Greece	(2005)
•	Hungary	(2005)
•	Luxembourg	(2003)
•	Poland	(2004)
•	Slovak Republic	(2005)
•	Sweden	(2003)
•	Turkey	(2004)
•	Ukraine	(2005)

The date of the previous periodic visit to each country is indicated in the brackets.

Persons in possession of information concerning deprivation of liberty in any of these countries which they believe could assist the CPT are invited to bring it to the Committee's attention.

Other "ad hoc" visits that appear to the CPT to be required in the circumstances will also be organised during 2009.

The CPT's field of operations covers all 47 member States of the Council of Europe.

The Committee has the right to visit, at any time, any place where persons are deprived of their liberty by a public authority. It also has the right to interview in private detained persons, and to enter into contact with anyone else who may be able to provide relevant information. After each visit, the CPT sends a confidential report containing its conclusions and recommendations to the State concerned. This constitutes the basis for a dialogue between the CPT and the national authorities in order to strengthen the protection of detained persons from ill-treatment.

For more details about the CPT or to contact it, consult the following website: www.cpt.coe.int

A "CPT Video-kit" is available for the audiovisual press. For more details please access our page "For the press".

## Contacts:

Patrick Müller, Secretariat of the CPT, Council of Europe, Tel. +33 3 88 41 23 88; patrick.muller@coe.int;

**Jaime Rodriguez**, Press Division of the Council of Europe, Tel. +33 3 90 21 47 04; Mobile +33 6 89 99 50 42; jaime.rodriguez@coe.int

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic

Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova

Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of

United Kingdom

Macedonia"

Turkey

Ukraine

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int