Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 759a08

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus

Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein

Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

Lithuania Luxembourg

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

"the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

PACE's Presidential Committee to visit Tbilisi

Strasbourg, 27.10.2008 - The Presidential Committee of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE), led by its President, Lluís Maria de Puig, will visit Tbilisi on 30 October 2008.

The visit is part of the follow-up to <u>Resolution 1633</u> on "The consequences of the war between Georgia and Russia", adopted by the Assembly on 2 October 2008. The Assembly's Bureau asked the Presidential Committee to visit Tbilisi and Moscow for meetings at the highest level with the authorities concerning the implementation of the resolution.

The parliamentarians will meet the Speaker of the Parliament David Bakradze, the Prime Minister Lado Gurgenidze, the Minister of Foreign Affairs Eka Tkeshelashvili, the Minister of Internal Affairs Ivane Merabishvili, the Minister of Reintegration Temur Iakobashvili, and the Secretary of the National Security Council Alexander Lomaia. They will also meet with the heads of the EU Monitoring Mission, the European Commission Delegation and the OSCE Mission.

The follow-up to be given to Resolution 1633 will be discussed by PACE's Standing Committee in Madrid on 28 November 2008.

The Presidential Committee is a consultative body for the Bureau and the President of the Assembly. It consists of the President of the Assembly, the chairpersons of the five political groups (Luc van den Brande, EPP/CD; Andreas Gross, SOC; Mikhail Margelov, represented for this visit by David Wilshire, First Vice-Chairperson, EDG; Mátyás Eörsi, ALDE; Tiny Kox, UEL) and the Secretary General of the Assembly, Mateo Sorinas.