# Ress Release

### **Council of Europe Press Division**

Ref: 674a08

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



## European Youth Centre: inauguration after renovation work

Strasbourg, 01.10.2008 – The European Youth Centre in Strasbourg (\*), a permanent structure of the Council of Europe responsible for implementing the organisation's youth policy and programmes, is to reopen its doors following a safety upgrade and renovation work.

The inauguration ceremony for the newly renovated EYCS (30, rue Pierre de Coubertin - Strasbourg) will take place today, 1 October, at 1.15 pm. The ceremony will begin with a statement by Terry Davis, Secretary General. This will be followed by addresses by Nyamko Sabuni, the Minister for Integration and Gender Equality of Sweden, which currently holds the Chairmanship of the Committee of Ministers, Luís Maria de Puig, President of the Parliamentary Assembly, and Roland Ries, Senator-Mayor of Strasbourg.

Since it was set up in 1972, the Strasbourg EYC has played host to more than 72,000 young people from all over Europe, through dozens of annual activities. Among the many who have benefited from these activities are numerous prominent European politicians (such as Alfred Gusenbauer, Chancellor of Austria, Anna Lindh, former Minister for Foreign Affairs of Sweden, Antonio Luis dos Santos da Costa, Mayor of Lisbon, and Miguel Angel Martinez, former president of the PACE).

Further information available at: www.coe.int/jeunesse

### Contact:

Can Fişek, Council of Europe, Press Division

Tel. +33 3 88 41 30 41; Mob +33 6 75 65 03 31; can.fisek@coe.int

(\*) There is a second European Youth Centre in Budapest, which is modelled on the one in Strasbourg (<a href="www.eycb.coe.int">www.eycb.coe.int</a> ).

#### 47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republio

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg

Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway

Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russia
San Marino
Serbia
Slovakia
Slovenia
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland

"the former Yugoslav Republic of

Macedonia"
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom