Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 665a08

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



47 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia
Finland

France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia

Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia

Republic of Macedonia"

"the former Yugoslav

Turkey Ukraine

Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

United Kingdom

Georgia: Commissioner Hammarberg facilitates further releases and exchanges of detainees and hostages

Strasbourg, 29.09.2008 - At the end of a four-day mission to Georgia including South Ossetia the Council of Europe Commissioner for Human Rights, Thomas Hammarberg, stated that he was satisfied that important progress had been made on the release and exchange of persons who had been deprived of their liberty on each side. "Progress is also made on identifying the dead bodies exchanged and recently found thereby reducing the number of cases of missing persons whose fate are unknown" he said.

The Commissioner offered his good offices to both sides on these problems and achieved important agreements the result of which will be known within the coming weeks. He expressed his gratitude for the constructive responses from the parliamentarian Givi Targamadaze in Tbilisi and ombudsman David Sanakoev in Tskhinvali.

'The progress achieved demonstrates that humanitarian issues can be resolved also in extremely complex political situations', the Commissioner concluded.

Press contact: Stefano Montanari, +33 6 61 14 70 37, stefano.montanari@coe.int.

* * *

The Commissioner for Human Rights is an independent, non-judicial institution within the Council of Europe, mandated to promote awareness of, and respect for, human rights in the 47 member States of the Organisation. Elected by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the present Commissioner, Mr Thomas Hammarberg, took up his function on 1 April 2006.

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int