Ress Release

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Ref:652a08

Tel: : +33 3 90 21 49 36 Fax : +33 3 88 41 27 51 congress.com@coe.int www.coe.int/congress

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kinadom

Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Armenia

Strasbourg, 23.09.2008 – A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe will pay a visit to Armenia, from 25 to 29 September, to observe the local elections for the renewal of the municipal Councils, which will be held on 28 September. The Congress delegation will be headed by Véronique Moreira, Regional Councillor of Rhône-Alpes (NR, France, R).

Prior to election day, the delegation will meet with the Human Rights Ombudsman, Armen Harutyunyan, the Chairman of the Central Electoral Commission of Armenia, Garegin Azaryan, the Armenian delegation to the Congress, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Territorial Administration, Armen Gevorgyan, the Mayor of Yerevan, Yervand Zakharyan, the President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia, the representatives of the 5 political parties in the Parliament, the candidates to the election, as well as some representatives of the media and of NGOs.

On 28 September the delegation will be deployed in different polling stations to observe the voting.

Members of the delegation:

Joe Conway, Councillor, Tramore Town Council (ILDG, Ireland, L) Mihkel Juhkami, Chair, Rakvere City Council (EPP/CD, Estonia, L) Dobrica Milovanovic, Mayor of the Assembly of the Municipality of Kragujevac (NR, Serbia, R) Paolo Rondelli, Municipal councillor of San Marino (SOC, San Marino, L) Dominique Ronga, delegated to the interregional relations and the decentralised cooperation, Vice-President of the Regional Council of Lorraine (SOC, France, R) Uldis Rozenbergs, Chairman, Gibulu Rural Municipality Council (EPP/CD, Latvia, L)

<u>Congress Secretariat:</u> Antonella Cagnolati, Director of the Congress Michel Rivollier, Project manager Gönül Koçak, Congress Secretariat

Contacts :

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Tel: +33 (0)3 90 21 49 36;Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 27 51 ; <u>congress.com@coe.int;</u> www.coe.int/congress

Council of Europe Office in Yerevan,

Tel.: +374 10 54 63 22 / 26 / 28 / 29; Fax: +374 10 54 63 19; <u>coe.yerevan@coe.int;</u> <u>http://www.coe.am</u>

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions.

It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities.

President of the Congress : Yavuz Mildon (Turkey, EPP/CD), President of the Chamber of Regions: Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities : Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD).

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

