## **Ress Release**

Council of Europe Press Division Ref: 649a08 Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11 pressunit@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press



## Council of Europe launches its "podcasts"

Strasbourg, 22.09.2008 - The Council of Europe will today launch a series of podcasts aimed at explaining its work to the general public.

The audio files of around three to four minutes take the form of short interviews with experts working in different areas, and show the wide scope of activities undertaken by the Council, which is mostly known for its action on human rights.

The podcasts can be downloaded on the Council of Europe website and will also soon be available as MP3 files on external sites to offer an easy way to listen for people on the move.

They are copyright free for use by journalists or the general public and available in different languages.

The following podcasts are available at www.coe.int/podcasts :

Action against corporal punishment to children Dosta : Campaign for the Roma **Domestic Violence** Death Penalty Anti Torture Trafficking in human beings The Council of Europe in Bulgaria Languages E – democracy E-Voting Disabled people Disabled people and the Internet Racism Discrimination Racism in football Sport and the CoE Holocaust Remembrance Minorities Heritage

English/French English/French English/Spanish English English Spanish Bulgarian English/French English English English English/French German/French English/French English English English/French French/English English/French

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact : Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkev Ukraine United Kingdom

47 members