Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division Ref: 189b08 Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11 pressunit@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press



47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkev Ukraine United Kingdom

Council of Europe Secretary General Terry Davis condemns violence in the northern part of Mitrovica

Strasbourg, 17.03.2008 - "I am deeply concerned about the violence which erupted in the northern part of Mitrovica during the weekend and this morning. Attacks on members of the UNMIK police force and KFOR who are only carrying out their duties on the basis of a United Nations Resolution are totally unacceptable."

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact : Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.