Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 113a08

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



47 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Monaco Montenearo Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "the former Yugoslav Republic of

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

Macedonia"

PACE to observe presidential election in Armenia

Strasbourg, 14.02.2008 – A 27-member delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), headed by John Prescott (United Kingdom, SOC), will visit Armenia from 18 to 20 February 2008 to observe the presidential election together with observers from the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR) and the European Parliament.

The delegation members will meet the candidates in the election, the Chairman of the Central Election Commission and representatives of NGOs and the media; they will then travel to various parts of the country to observe the conduct of the poll on 19 February.

A PACE pre-election delegation which visited Yerevan from 29 to 31 January 2008 said that it was "heartened by the clearly expressed will of the authorities to hold fully democratic elections in line with Armenia's commitments to the Council of Europe". But it felt that continued efforts were needed in organising the elections so as to ensure public confidence in the electoral process.

The observers will present their conclusions at a joint press conference at 3pm on Wednesday 20 February (to be confirmed) at the Armenia Marriott Hotel (1 Amiryan Street, Yerevan).

Link to full text of pre-election statement (31 January 2008)
Link to provisional list of delegation members

Contact:

PACE Communication Unit: Nathalie Bargellini, tel. +33 (0)6 65 40 32 82