Ress Release

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Ref:891a07

Tel: : +33 3 90 21 49 36 - Fax : +33 3 88 41 27 51 congress.com@coe.int www.coe.int/congress

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkev Ukraine United Kinadom

Congress to observe 2nd round of mayoral elections in Kosovo

Strasbourg, 07.12.2007 – A Congress delegation, including also a representative of the EU Committee of the Regions, will observe the 2nd round of mayoral elections in Kosvo on 8 December 2007.

The delegation, headed by Congress Vice-President Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), will be deployed in Mitrovica and Prizren, observe the polling on Election Day, and issue its preliminary findings on Sunday 9 December. Members of the delegation will have meetings with Sazan Ibrahimi, Executive Director of the Association of Kosovo Municipalities, Joachim Rucker from the UN Mission in Kosovo, Markku Laamanen, Deputy Head of the OSCE Mission in Kosovo, and Jonas Jonsson, Head of the ICO Mission in Kosovo.

On the eve of the elections, Head of the Mission Ludmila Sfirloaga made the following statement:

"The 10th December will be a crucial day in the history of Kosovo. When the question of the status is decided, one of the most important challenges for the new government will be the development of institutions of local democracy in Kosovo. The Congress, faithful to its commitment to promoting a style of local self-government that meets the needs of the citizens wherever they may be, stands ready to assist and accompany Kosovo in the achievement of those goals."

Composition of the delegation

Socialist group / Groupe socialiste : 3 members / 3 membres

- Ludmila Sfirloaga, Councillor, Prahova County Council (Romania/Roumanie, R), Head of the delegation
- Paolo Rondelli, Municipal Councillor of San Marino (San Marino/Saint Marin, R)
- Dominique Ronga, delegated to the interregional relations and the decentralised cooperation, Vice-President of the Regional Council of Lorraine (France, R)

EPP/CD group / Groupe PPE/DC: 2 members / 2 membres

- Joseph Borg, Councillor of Mellieha (Malta/Malte, R)
- Michael Neureiter, Vice President, Regional Parliament of Salzburg (Austria/Autriche, R) Non registered NR / Non inscrit NI: 1 member / 1 membre

• Véronique Moreira, Regional Councillor of Rhône Alpes (France, R)

Committee of the Regions

• Ms Heini Utunen Ziv, Member of the External Relations Commission, CoR (FI/ALDE) Congress Secretariat

- Lilit Nikoghosyan, Co-Secretary of the Institutional Committee
- Gönül Kocak, Assistant

Contacts Presse :

Dmitri Marchenkov, Chef de l'Unité de communication du Congrès Tél. : +33 3 88 41 38 44 ; Mobile +33 6 75 65 03 49 ; <u>congress.com@coe.int</u>

It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress Halvdan Skard (Norway, SOC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Yavuz Mildon (EPP/CD,Turkey),

President of the Chamber of Local Authorities : Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD).

Political Groups : Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD),

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).

