Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 785a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Pompidou Group conference in Porto to discuss role of families in drug prevention

Strasbourg, 14.11.2007 – Getting families to help prevent drug abuse is the topic of an international conference organised by the Council of Europe Pompidou Group (*) and hosted by the Institute for Drugs and Drug Addiction of Portugal in Porto on 19-20 November.

The conference, entitled "Families, lifestyles and drugs - reaching families in prevention", also aims to serve as a platform for discussing new ways of prevention work, sharing good practices and proposing future actions.

Drug prevention and social work professionals from 28 countries will form four working groups: targeting vulnerable groups, universal prevention, working with migrant communities, and 21st century lifestyles.

The <u>conference programme</u> also includes four parallel sessions which will examine current approaches to involving families in prevention, the cultural social and economic context of prevention work, social marketing and its applicability to the drug prevention field and future intervention methods and techniques.

Pilot projects such as developing new TV programme formats, drug prevention activities for leisure parks and the development of manuals for resorts and tourist towns will be also discussed at the event.

A set of recommendations on how to involve families in prevention activities is due to be developed as a result of the event.

The conference will be open to the press.

Press contacts in the Council of Europe:

Press Division – Ulvi Akhundlu (Tel: +33 3 88 41 26 38, Ulvi.Akhundlu@coe.int) Website of the Pompidou Group Groupe Pompidou : http://www.coe.int/pompidou

(*) The Co-operation Group to Combat Drug Abuse and illicit Trafficking in Drugs (more commonly known as the Pompidou Group) currently has 35 member states: Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom. The European Commission is also a member.

47 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia

Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia

Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia

Monaco

San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom