# **Ress Release**

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities Ref:751a07

Tel: : +33 3 90 21 49 36 Fax : +33 3 88 41 27 51 congress.com@coe.int www.coe.int/congress

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kinadom

## Council of Europe Congress to observe Assembly, municipal and mayoral elections in Kosovo

Strasbourg, 07.11.2007 – As part of the Fifth Council of Europe Election Observation Mission (CEEOM V), a delegation from the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities will visit Kosovo from 13 to 18 November to observe the elections which will take place on 17 November.

The delegation, headed by Ludmila Sfirloaga (Romania, SOC), will be joined by representatives of the European Union's Committee of the Regions and of national associations of local and regional authorities.

On 15 November, the delegation will meet representatives of local authorities and of the Association of Kosovo municipalities, as well as leaders of the major political forces. The delegation will also meet representatives of the international community present in Kosovo and members of civil society.

On election day, 24 short-term Congress observers from 16 countries will be deployed throughout Kosovo as a part of a common CEEOM deployment plan. The Election Observation Mission will present its preliminary findings at a press conference at the ABC Cinema in Pristina on 18 November (time to be announced on the spot).

Membership of the delegation:

### **Congress members**

#### Socialist Group

Albert Moens, Member, Provincial Executive of Nord-Holland (Netherlands) Paolo Rondelli, Municipal Councillor of San Marino (San Marino) Dominique Ronga, delegated to the interregional relations and the decentralised cooperation, Vice-President of the Regional Council of Lorraine (France) Ludmila Sfirloaga, Councillor, Prahova County Council (Romania), Head of the delegation Tatiana Shvedova, Head of the City of Neftekumsk, Neftekumsk district, Stavropol territory (Russian Federation) **EPP/CD Group** Joseph Borg, Councillor of Mellieha (Malta) Michael Neureiter, Vice President, Regional Parliament of Salzburg (Austria) Liberal Group (ILDG) Violeta Alarova, Mayor, Municipality of Centar/Skopje ("The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia") Joe Conway, Councillor, Tramore Town Council (Ireland), Rapporteur Ott Kasuri, Mayor of Harku Municipality (Estonia)

Hannu Kemppainen, Member, City Council of Kajaani (Finland/Finlande) Britt-Marie Lövgren, Vice-Mayor, Umea (Sweden)

.../.

The Congress has two chambers, the Chamber of Local Authorities and the Chamber of Regions. It brings together 318 full and 318 substitute members representing more than 200 000 European territorial communities. President of the Congress Halvdan Skard (Norway, SOC), President of the Chamber of Regions: Yavuz Mildon (EPP/CD,Turkey), President of the Chamber of Local Authorities : Ian Micallef (Malta, EPP/CD).

Political Groups : Socialist Group (SOC), Group of the European People's Party – Christian Democrats (EPP/CD),

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).



Nigel Mermagen, Councillor, South Somerset District Council (United Kingdom) Jan Brons, Association of Polish Cities (Poland)

#### Non-registered (NR)

Lorenc Luka, Head, Regional Council of Shkodra (Albania / Albanie) Véronique Moreira, Regional Councillor of Rhône Alpes (France)

#### Committee of the Regions

Uno Aldegren , President of the External Relations Commission (SE/PSE) Franz Schausberger, Member of the External Relations Commission (AT/PPE) Heini Utunen Ziv, Member of the External Relations Commission (FI/ALDE) Uno Silberg, Member of the External Relations Commission (ET/UEN-EA)

### National associations of local and regional authorities

Mariana Kancheva Ivanova, Union of Bulgaria Black Sea Local Authorities (Bulgaria)

#### **Congress Secretariat**

Antonella Cagnolati, Director Larissa Kireeva, Administrator Gönül Kocak, Assistant

**Contact:** Dmitri Marchenkov, Head of the Congress Press Unit Tel: +33 3 88 41 38 44 ; mob. +33 6 75 65 03 49 Email: <u>dmitri.marchenkov@coe.int</u>