Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 603a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia

Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova
Monaco
Montenegro
Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia

Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom

2008 European Drug Prevention Prize: Pompidou Group invites applications

Strasbourg, 19.09.2007 – The 3rd European Drug Prevention Prize will be awarded in spring 2008 to three projects carried out by young people by the Council of Europe's Pompidou Group(*).

The winning projects will be chosen from the Group's 35 member states, both for the quality of the prevention work and the degree of youth involvement, and will each receive € 5,000. Special attention will be given to innovative approaches, particularly modern methods of communication such as video, mobile phone or Internet.

The project proposals will be examined by a jury made up of six young people from Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, the Russian Federation and Turkey. They will be helped by an advisory group of drug prevention experts.

Projects must be submitted by 1 December 2007. The eligibility criteria and application form can be downloaded at:

http://www.coe.int/t/dg3/pompidou/Source/PrevPrize/2008PrevPrizeApplicationen.doc

The European Prevention Prize, launched in 2004, is awarded every two years to three drug prevention projects that fully involve young people, either in the development and implementation of activities, decision-making, project management and/or evaluation.

For more information see www.coe.int/pompidou

(*) The Co-operation Group to Combat Drug Abuse and illicit Trafficking in Drugs (more commonly known as the Pompidou Group) currently has 35 member states: Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom. The European Commission is also a member.

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int