# **Ress Release**

# **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Ref: 514a07 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press

PACE delegation to observe parliamentary elections in Turkey

Strasbourg, 17.07.2007 - A 32-member delegation from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), headed by Luc Van den Brande (Belgium, EPP/CD), will observe the parliamentary elections in Turkey on 22 July.

The delegation will be in the country from 19 to 23 July. It will meet representatives of political parties, electoral officials and members of civil society and will deploy around the country to observe the voting in a representative cross-section of polling stations.

The observers will announce their conclusions at a final press conference on 23 July at 11.30 a.m. in the Swisshotel (Yildizevler Mahallesi, Jose Marti Cad. No 2, Çankaya, Ankara).

#### Members of the delegation

#### Luc Van den Brande, Head of Delegation

#### Socialist Group (SOC)

Piotr Gadzinowski (Poland) Andreas Gross (Switzerland) Tadeusz Iwiński (Poland) Pietro Marcenaro (Italy) Neven Mimica (Croatia) Theodoros Pangalos (Greece) Fatma Pehlivan (Belgium) Ruth-Gaby Vermot-Mangold (Switzerland) Biruté Vésaité (Lithuania) Gisela Wurm (Austria)

### Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

José Freire Antunes (Portugal) Urszula Gacek (Poland) Gultakin Hajiyeva (Azerbaijan) Mladen Ivanić (Bosnia and Herzegovina) Danuta Jazłowiecka (Poland) Lucio Malan (Italy) Julio Padilla (Spain) Marietta de Pourbaix-Lundin (Sweden) Bernard Schreiner (France) Luc Van den Brande (Belgium) Piotr Wach (Poland)

# Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Rafael Husevnov (Azerbaijan) Lord Russell-Johnston (United Kingdom) Hanne Severinsen (Denmark)

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 318 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Mateo Sorinas. Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).



Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein l ithuania Luxemboura Malta Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

United Kinadom

47 members

# European Democrat Group (EDG)

Krzysztof Bosak (Poland) Victor Kolesnikov (Russian Federation) Gamira Pashayeva (Azerbaijan) Aldona Staponkiené (Lithuania) Ewa Tomaszewska (Poland) David Wilshire (United Kingdom)

## Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Hakki Keskin (Germany) Sabina Sinascalchi (Italy)

Contact: Nathalie Bargellini, PACE Communication Unit, mobile: +33 (0)6 65 40 32 82