Press Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 478a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Monaco becomes 46th member of the Group of States 47 members against Corruption (GRECO)

Strasbourg, 03.07.07 - On 1 July, Monaco became the 46th member State of GRECO¹ - a direct and automatic result of the Principality ratifying the Council of Europe's Criminal Law Convention on Corruption on 19 March this year.

Through its accession to GRECO, Monaco joins countries which have actively committed themselves to fighting corruption by accepting to participate in the Group's mutual evaluation process. An evaluation team will go to Monaco to deal initially with issues related to the themes of the First and Second Evaluation Rounds which were conducted between 1999 and 2006 (notably the capability of institutions to deal with corruption cases and preventive measures taken within the public administration). A further visit of evaluation in the framework of GRECO's newly launched Third Evaluation Round will be carried out at a later stage and deal with incriminations of corruption and transparency of party funding.

Monaco became a member of the Council of Europe in October 2004. As underlined in the report of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe on honouring of obligations and commitments by Monaco, the ratification of the Criminal Law Convention on Corruption forms part of a series of reforms decided on by Prince Albert II, whose purpose is to give greater transparency to the management of all bodies receiving public funds in the interests of ethics and clarity. Among other things, it is proposed to supplement the rules laying down the conditions in which public servants may or may not conclude contracts, sales or purchases with persons or administrators of companies exercising powers of administration or supervision in those bodies.

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco

Montenegro Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia

Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkev Ukraine United Kingdom

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int

GRECO is an enlarged partial agreement which was created within the Council of Europe in 1999. It currently comprises: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Republic of Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Republic of Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and United States of America.