Ress Release

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Ref:412a07

Tel:: +33 3 90 21 49 36 Fax: +33 3 88 41 27 51 congress.com@coe.int www.coe.int/congress



Council of Europe Congress to observe the second round of local elections in Moldova

Strasbourg, 13.06.2007 – A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is to visit Moldova from 16 to 18 June to observe the second round of local elections, which will take place on 17 June.

The Delegation, lead by Mrs **Susan Bolam**, Northumberland County Councillor (UK, EPP, R), will be deployed throughout the country on the Election Day and will present its preliminary findings at a press conference which will be hold in Chisinau on 18 June (time to be confirmed).

Membership of the delegation:

- ▶ Mrs Susan Bolam, Northumberland County Councillor (UK, EPP/CD) Head of the delegation
- Mr Joseph Borg, Deputy Chairman of the Local Council Association (LCA) (Malta, EPP/CD)
- > Mr Joe Conway, Councillor, Tramore Town Council (Ireland, ILDG)
- > Mrs Pauline Dee, Member, North Shropshire District Council (United Kingdom, ILDG)
- > Mr Mihkel Juhkami, Chair, Rakvere City Council, Member of the Congress (Estonia, EPP/CD)
- Mr Hannu Kemppainen, Member, City Council of Kajaani (Finland, ILDG)
- > Mrs Marie-Rose Koro, Regional Councillor of Basse-Normandie (France, SOC)
- Mr Michael Neureiter, Vice President, Regional Parliament of Salzburg (Austria, EPP/CD)
- > Mr Petru Radu Paun-Jura, Mayor of Simeria, Hunedoara County (Romania, ILDG)
- > Mr Paolo Rondelli, Municipal Councillor of San Marino (San Marino, SOC)
- > Mr Emin Yeritsyan, Councillor, Community of Parakar (Armenia, EPP/CD)

Congress Secretariat

> Ms Elena Piscopo, Co-ordination of election observation

Contact: Dmitri Marchenkov, Head of the Congress Press Unit Tel: +33 3 88 41 38 44; Email: dmitri.marchenkov@coe.int

47 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina

Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark

Estonia Finland

France Georgia

Germany Greece

Hungary

Iceland Ireland

Italy Latvia

Liechtenstein

Lithuania Luxembourg

Malta Moldova Monaco

Montenegro Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal

Romania Russia San Marino Serbia

Slovakia Slovenia Spain

Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of

Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine

United Kinadom

Independent and Liberal Democrat Group (ILDG).