Ress Release

Communication Unit of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities

Ref:366a07

Tel:: +33 3 90 21 49 36 Fax: +33 3 88 41 27 51

congress.com@coe.intwww.coe.int/congress



English only

47 members

Council of Europe Congress to observe local elections in Moldova

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus

Czech Republic

Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany

Denmark

Greece Hungary Iceland

Ireland Italy Latvia

Liechtenstein Lithuania

Luxembourg Malta

Moldova Monaco Montenegro Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine United Kinadom Strasbourg, 01.06.2007 - A delegation of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe is visiting Moldova from 31 May to 4 June to observe local elections, which will take place on 3 June.

From 31 May to 2 June, the delegation, led by Susan Bolam (United Kingdom, R, EPP/CD), will meet representatives of Governmental authorities, Parliament, Central Electoral Commission as well as leaders of the major political forces. The delegation will also meet representatives of the civil society, of the international community in Moldova as well as domestic and other international observer organisations.

Nine teams of observers will be deployed throughout the country on Election Day. The Congress delegation will present its preliminary findings at a press conference which will be held in Chisinau on 4 June at 2 pm at the Leogrand Hotel Convention Centre.

Membership of the delegation:

EPP/CD group:

Susan Bolam, Member, Northumberland County Council (United Kingdom, R) - Head of the Delegation

Joseph Borg, Councillor of Mellieha (Malta, R)

Mihkel Juhkami, Chair, Rakvere City Council (Estonia, L)

Dimitry Kuzmin, Mayor of the City of Stavropol (Russian Federation, L)

Michael Neureiter, Vice President, Regional Parliament of Salzburg (Austria, R)

Emin Yeritsyan, Councillor, Community of Parakar (Armenia, L)

Socialist group:

Brith Fäldt, Councillor, Pitea (Sweden, L)

Paolo Rondelli, Municipal Councillor of San Marino (San Marino, R) Marie-Rose Koro, Regional Councillor of Basse-Normandie (France, R) Ludmila Sfirloaga, Councillor, Prahova County Council (Romania, R)

Liberal group ILDG:

Joe Conway, Councillor, Tramore Town Council (Ireland, L)

Pauline Dee, Member, North Shropshire District Council (United Kingdom, L)

Hannu Kemppainen, Member, City Council of Kajaani (Finland, L)

Petru Radu Paun-Jura, Mayor of Simeria, Hunedoara County (Romania, L) René Van Diessen, Member, Provincial Executive of Gelderland (Netherlands, R)

Ott Kasuri, Mayor of Harku Municipality (Estonia, Local)

Congress Secretariat:

Pilar Morales Elena Piscopo

Contact: Dmitri Marchenkov, Head of the Congress Press Unit Tel: +33 3 88 41 38 44 ; Email: dmitri.marchenkov@coe.int