Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 363a07

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press

COUNCIL

CONSEIL DE L'EUROPE OF EUROPE

47 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria

Cyprus Czech Republic

Croatia

Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland

Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Montenearo Netherlands Norway Poland

Monaco

Portugal Romania Russia

San Marino Serbia

Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia" Turkey

Ukraine United Kingdom

Nuremberg wins the 2007 Europe Prize

Strasbourg, 01.06.2007 - The 2007 Europe Prize has been awarded to the German town of Nuremberg in Germany. The decision was taken unanimously by the Committee on the Environment, Agriculture and Local and Regional Affairs of the Council of Europe's Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in Paris.

This Bavarian town developed fourteen twinnings throughout the world, nine of them in Europe, supported by ten twinning committees but also by numerous associations and volunteers. Nuremberg's International Relations Office, which co-ordinates all twinning activities, estimated that more than 55,000 people had been involved in more than 5,000 twinning activities since 1991.

Nuremberg organises many conferences and exhibitions and also attaches great importance to all that concerns human rights by awarding an International Human Rights Prize every two years. Nuremberg also hosts cultural events like the International Organ Week and the World Music Festival.

Nuremberg, which was already awarded the Flag of Honour in 1999 and the Plague of Honour in 2002, is the fourteenth German town to receive this award.

Created by PACE in 1955, the Europe Prize is the highest distinction that can be bestowed on a European town for its actions in the European domain. The prize consists of a trophy, a medal, a diploma and a scholarship to be spent on a study visit within Europe for young people from the winning town.

The Plague of Honour, which is the second highest distinction after the Europe Prize,

was awarded to eight municipalities:

Saint-Sebastien-sur-Loire (Loire-Atlantique) France

Eppstein (Hessen) Germany

Gau-Algesheim (Rhineland-Palatinate)

Sinzing (Bavaria) Bytom (woj. Śłąskie)

Russia Yaroslavl

Poland

Spain Murcia (Murcia region) Sweden Vara (Västergötland Province)

The Flag of Honour was awarded to 18 municipalities this year:

Austria Wagna (Styria) Evergem (Flanders) Belgium

Aixe-sur-Vienne (Haute-Vienne) (together with Grosshabersdorf (D) France

Granville (Manche)

./..

Germany Amberg/Opf. (Bavaria)

Großhabersdorf (Bavaria) (together with Aixe-sur-Vienne (F)

Gunzenhausen (Bavaria)

Mallersdorf-Pfaffenberg (Bavaria) Nordwalde (North-Rhine Westphalia) Oppenheim (Rhineland-Palatinate) Ottersweier (Baden-Wurttemberg) Wadersloh (North-Rhine Westphalia)

Lithuania Alytus (Dzukija region)

Trakai

Poland Białogard (woj. Zachodniopomorskie)

Ogrodzieniec (woj. Śłąskie)

Romania Satu Mare

United Kingdom Verwood and Three Legged Cross (Dorset)

24 municipalities were granted the European Diploma:

Bulgaria Kavarna
France Amilly (Loiret)
Andrésy (Yvelines)

Plaisir (Yvelines)

Germany Aspach (Baden-Wurttemberg)

Harpstedt (Lower Saxony) Kamen (North-Rhine Westphalia) Kerpen (North-Rhine Westphalia)

Puchheim (Bavaria) Follonica (Grossetto)

Russi (Ravenna)
Lithuania Birzai (Panevezys County)

Kedainiai (Kaunas County) Šiauliai (Siauliai County)

Poland Gołuchów (woj. Wielkopolskie)

Kędzierzyn-Koźle (woj. Opolskie)

Łącko (woj. Małopolskie) Leśnica (woj. Opolskie) Lublin (woj. Lubelskie)

Środa Śląska (woj. Dolnośłąskie)

Russia Vladimir

Italy

Sweden Borgholm (Öland Island)
Switzerland Fribourg (Canton of Fribourg)
United Kingdom Rushmoor B.C. (Hampshire)