Press Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 297a07

46 members

Albania Andorra

Armenia

Belgium

Croatia

Cyprus

Denmark Estonia

Finland

Czech Republic

Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria

Austria Azerbaijan

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



The Republic of Montenegro becomes 47th Council of Europe member State

Strasbourg, 10.05.2007 - On Friday 11 May, the Republic of Montenegro will join the Council of Europe as its 47^{th} member. The accession ceremony will take place in Strasbourg, just before the 117^{th} session of the Organisation's Committee of Ministers.

The ceremony will begin at **9am**, in the main hall of the Palais de l'Europe, with a statement by Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

Milan Rocen, Foreign Minister of the Republic of Montenegro, will sign the *Procès-Verbal* (*), before delivering his speech.

Fiorenzo Stolfi, Chairman-in-Office of the Committee of Ministers and Foreign Minister of the Republic of San Marino, and Bernard Schreiner, Vice-President of the Parliamentary Assembly, will also take the floor.

The Montenegro flag will be hoisted on the forecourt at **9.30 am**. The national anthem of the Republic of Montenegro and the European anthem will then be played.

Note to editors

The Committee of Ministers' decision to invite Montenegro to accede to the Council of Europe is a follow-up to Opinion 261 (2007) adopted by the Parliamentary Assembly on 17 April 2007, listing a number of commitments the Montenegro authorities agreed to comply with.

There are no restrictions on camera crews or photographers. Television pictures can be transmitted live on request to Sylvain Piron (Tel. +33 3 88 41 25 67; Mobile +33 6 96 42 61 69; sylvain.piron@coe.int)

Press contact: Henriette Girard

Tel. +33 3 88 41 21 41; Mobile +33 6 75 65 03 39; henriette.girard@coe.int

France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden

Switzerland
"The former Yugoslav
Republic of
Macedonia"
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom

(*) The Government of the Republic of Montenegro declared that it considers itself bound since 6 June 2006 by all the relevant conventions and protocols to which the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro had previously been a Party.

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int