Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 276a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Human Rights Commissioner welcomes UN solution for Bosnia's de-certified police officers

Strasbourg, 03.05.2007 - Thomas Hammarberg, the Council of Europe's Commissioner for Human Rights, welcomed the UN's recent move to provide clarification about its position on the issue of de-certified police officers. The Commissioner believes that the road is now clear to end the disputes and the legal uncertainty which emerged in the aftermath of the vetting process by the UN International Police Task Force (IPTF).

"The fact that the UN Security Council has communicated its position is an important step forward," said Commissioner Thomas Hammarberg, referring to a letter sent by the UK presidency of the Security Council to the Bosnian government earlier this week. "This will eventually give the complainants a chance to apply for police duty again, and ultimately lift the stigma which previous UN decisions have generated."

According to the UN letter, decertified police officers will not be prohibited from reapplying for jobs at the police forces, provided they meet certain conditions, including specific recruitment grounds and procedures contained in the current Law on Police Officials of Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Since December 2006, the Commissioner has been engaged in mediating between the Bosnian government, the police association and the UN Security Council to find a solution to the sensitive and by now highly political issue.

"I personally would have preferred the proposal of the Venice Commission - which recommended a review panel - but what the Security Council decided will also move the process in the right direction. I hope that the Bosnian government now will be able to implement its own part of the agreement," the Commissioner added.

With questions and queries, please contact Zsofia Szilagyi, Mob: +336 6114 7037, Email: zsofia.szilagyi@coe.int.

Press release n° 201 from 2 April 2007 Press release n° 250 from 24 April 2007

46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republic
Denmark
Estonia

Cyerths
Czech Republ
Denmark
Estonia
Finland
France
Georgia
Germany
Greece
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Italy
Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg

Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia

San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav

Republic of Macedonia"
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom