Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 249a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



"The religious dimension of intercultural dialogue" European Conference in San Marino

Strasbourg, 20.04.2007 - A European Conference on "The religious dimension of intercultural dialogue" organised by the <u>San Marino Chairmanship</u> of the Council of Europe's Committee of Ministers will take place in San Marino on 23-24 April 2007 (Kursaal Congress Hall).

The conference will be opened on Monday 23 April at 9h30 in the presence of the Captains Regent of the Republic of San Marino, by Minister Fiorenzo Stolfi, President of the Committee of Ministers, and Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe.

Taking part in this conference will be representatives of Christian (Catholic, Protestant and Orthodox), Jewish and Muslim religions, member and observer States of the Council of Europe, other international institutions, civil society as well as experts.

Open to the press, the conference will focus on two main themes:

- the issues and perspectives of dialogue between the religious communities traditionally present in our continent, civil society and the Council of Europe;
- evaluation of the importance of the religious dimension in the promotion of intercultural dialogue notably in the light of the preparatory consultations on the Council of Europe "White Paper on Intercultural Dialogue".

The conference will be an opportunity to share examples of good practice at all levels in the area of dialogue between religious communities and public authorities.

The Conference's conclusions will be presented on Tuesday 24 April at 12h30 by Ambassador Guido Bellatti Ceccoli, Permanent Representative of San Marino to the Council of Europe.

For the audiovisual media

The San Marino broadcasting corporation (RTV) will film the whole conference and will broadcast a selection of images (approx. 4 minutes) on the EBU satellite network « PNN News Items » on 23 and 24 April.

Press contact:

Dorian Lacombe, Press officer

Tél.: +33(0)3.90.21.47.04; Mobile +33(0)6.61.14.83.16; dorian.lacombe@coe.int

46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France

Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia

Latvia
Liechtenstein
Lithuania
Luxembourg
Malta
Moldova

Moldova
Monaco
Netherlands
Norway
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Russia
San Marino
Serbia
Slovakia

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of

Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine

Slovenia

Spain Sweden

United Kingdom