Ress Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 100a07rev.

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

46 members

Albania Andorra

Armenia

Austria Azerbaijan

Belgium

Bulgaria

Croatia

Cyprus

France

Georgia Germany

Greece

Hungary Iceland

Ireland Italy

Latvia Liechtenstein

Lithuania

Slovenia Spain

Sweden

Luxembourg Malta

Denmark Estonia Finland

Czech Republic

Bosnia and Herzegovina

internet: www.coe.int/press



Some 400 leading experts worldwide in anti-money laundering gather together in Strasbourg

Strasbourg, 14.02.2007 – From 21 to 23 February the Council of Europe will be hosting the first joint meeting of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and the Council of Europe Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures (MONEYVAL).

With the aim of strengthening international co-operation in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing, the approximately 400 participants will study the FATF's mutual evaluation report on Turkey, MONEYVAL's third-round mutual evaluation report on Georgia and a progress report submitted by Cyprus. Reports from Armenia and Azerbaijan will be considered also by MONEYVAL.

Other items on the agenda are abuse of Value Added Tax systems for money laundering and money-laundering in South America.

Terry Davis, Secretary General of the Council of Europe, will open the meeting at 9 a.m. on Wednesday 21 February (only this part of the meeting is open to the press).

Twenty-seven of the 46 member states of the Council of Europe are currently members of the MONEYVAL Committee (*). The FATF has 33 members (**).

For further information please consult the special file:

www.coe.int/t/dc/files/events/2007 moneyval_plenary/default_en.asp

Press contacts:

Estelle Steiner, Press Division, Council of Europe

Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 33 35, mobile + 33 (0)6 08 46 01 57, estelle.steiner@coe.int

Helen Fisher, Media Relations Division, OECD Tel. +33 (0)1 45 24 80 97, helen.fisher@oecd.org

Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav

Republic of
Macedonia"
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom

(*) Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Ukraine.

(**) Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, the European Commission, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, the Gulf Co-operation Council, Hong Kong - China, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States. The People's Republic of China, India and the Korean Republic are Observers.

To receive our press releases by e-mail, contact: Council.of.Europe.Press@coe.int