Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 037a07

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 - Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34

pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



OF EUROPE

PACE to observe parliamentary elections in Serbia

46 members

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaiian

Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia

Cyprus Czech Republic

Denmark Estonia

Finland France Georgia

Germany

Greece Hungary

Iceland Ireland

Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxemboura

Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania

San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

Russia

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Turkev Ukraine

United Kingdom

Strasbourg, 16.01.2007 - A 19-member team of observers from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), headed by Tadeusz Iwinski (Poland, SOC), will observe the 21 January parliamentary elections in Serbia alongside observers from OSCE/ODIHR and the OSCE and NATO Parliamentary Assemblies.

Members of the delegation will meet with representatives of political parties, as well as with NGOs and the media, before deploying around the country to observe the conduct of the vote, including in Kosovo.

On 19-20 December 2006, a PACE "pre-election" delegation visited Belgrade and concluded in a statement that the parliamentary elections will be an important test of Serbia's commitment to further democratisation and continued European integration.

The joint delegation is due to give its preliminary assessment at a press conference at 1 p.m. on Monday 22 January at the Congress Sava Center, Belgrade.

Members of the Delegation

Tadeusz Iwinski, Head of Delegation

Socialist Group (SOC)

Sead Avdic Bosnia and Herzegovina

Meritxell Batet Spain Andreas Gross Switzerland Tadeusz lwinski** Poland

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

Pedro Agramunt Spain Corien W.A. Jonker ** Netherlands Andrea Rigoni Italy Egidijus Vareikis Lithuania Piotr Wach Poland Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

United Kingdom Lord Russell-Johnson Morten Østergaard Denmark Johannes Randegger Switzerland Jelleke Veenendaal Netherlands Gheorghe Adrian Miutescu Romania

European Democratic Group (EDG)

Christopher Chope **United Kingdom** Nigel Evans United Kingdom Morten Messerschmidt Denmark Ewa Tomaszewska Poland

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Alexander Fomenko Russian Federation

** Members of the pre-election delegation (19-20 December 2006)

Contacts:

Vladimir Dronov, PACE Secretariat, tel. +33 (0)6 63 49 37 92 PACE Communication Unit, tel.+33 (3)88 41 31 93