Press Release

Council of Europe Press Division

Ref: 015a07

Tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 25 60 Fax:+33 (0)3 88 41 39 11

pressunit@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



Massimo D'Alema and Terry Davis: support for an initiative to abolish capital punishment worldwide

Rome, 09.01.2007 - At their meeting in Rome today, the Italian Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister and the Secretary General of the Council of Europe discussed the question of the death penalty and an initiative at the United Nations, deciding to adopt the following joint statement:

"We believe that the abolition of the death penalty contributes to the enhancement of the human dignity and the progressive development of human rights. The death penalty provides no added value in terms of deterrence.

Italy is a founding member of the Council of Europe, which has been working in the past decades to outlaw the death penalty in Europe, on the basis of the European Convention on Human Rights and its protocols. As a result, no execution was carried out in any member State of the Council of Europe in the past ten years. A growing number of countries in other continents have also abolished the death penalty. It is time to build on these international achievements.

Several recent death penalty cases and executions in different parts of the world have reinforced the need for a global moratorium on executions, with a view to the complete abolition of the death penalty. We are committed to work together to promote a worldwide moratorium and ban on the death penalty. Vice-Prime Minister and Foreign Minister D'Alema and Secretary General Davis express their full support for an initiative at the UN General Assembly aimed at relaunching the consideration of a global moratorium and in the future a global ban on the death penalty."

46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cyprus
Czech Republi
Denmark

Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway

Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

Poland Portugal Romania

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom