## **R**ess **R**elease

## **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Ref: 768a06 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press

46 members

Albania

Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaiian Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom

COUNCIL CONSEIL OF EUROPE DE L'EUROPE

## Geneva Museum of the Reformation wins 2007 Council of Europe Museum Prize

Strasbourg, 08.12.2006 – The Council of Europe Museum Prize for 2007 has been awarded to the International Museum of the Reformation, Geneva.

Housed on the spot where the people of Geneva voted to adopt Reformation in 1536, the museum features displays on the Bible, the work of Calvin, religious controversy with other Christian traditions, the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, Protestant resistance to fascism, missionary work and the role of women in the ministry.

The jury praised the museum's international outlook and demonstration of religious tolerance, and described as "especially daring" its effort to visualise theological discourse, such as an interactive display on predestination.

The Council of Europe Museum Prize has been awarded annually since 1977 to a museum judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding of European cultural heritage. Museums in the 49 countries of the European Cultural Convention are eligible to enter for the prize.

The winning museum will be presented with a bronze statuette, "La femme aux beaux seins" by Joan Miró, which the museum will keep for a year, as well as a diploma and a cheque for 5,000 euros. The presentation ceremony will take place in Strasbourg on 17 April 2007 during the Parliamentary Assembly's spring session.

The prize is decided by the Committee on Culture, Science and Education of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) on the basis of a shortlist presented by a jury of the European Museum Forum, and forms part of the European Museum of the Year Awards.

Recent winners include the Churchill Museum in London (2006), the Museum of Byzantine Culture in Thessaloniki, Greece (2005) and the Museum of Health Care in Edirne, Turkey (2004).

Link to the web page of the International Museum of the Reformation Link to the website of the Council of Europe Museum Prize

## Contact:

**Christopher Grayson,** Head of the Secretariat of the Assembly's Committee on Culture, Science and Education, tel: +33 (0)3 88 41 21 14, e-mail: christopher.grayson@coe.int.

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together 315 members from the national parliaments of the 46 member states.

President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Mateo Sorinas.

Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).