## Ress Release

## **Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit**

Ref: 710a06

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press



## PACE Standing Committee calls for better treatment of non-citizens in Latvia

Strasbourg, 17.11.2006 – The Standing Committee of the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE) meeting today in San Marino, called for non-citizens in Latvia to be granted at least the same rights as other EU nationals living in the country.

In a resolution, the parliamentarians called for automatic naturalisation of non-citizens who are elderly or born in the country, as well as those who have made "a worthwhile contribution to the establishment of the newly independent Latvian state". More flexible naturalisation procedures should be considered, and those applying should not be asked to express convictions that are "contrary to their reading of the history of their cultural community or nation".

Minorities should also be able to use their language in relations with administrative authorities "in areas where they live in substantial numbers" while all permanent residents should be able to vote in at least local elections, in line with Assembly recommendations.

In the long term, such measures could help the Russian minority in Latvia to serve as "a bridge" to the nearby culture and market of the Russian Federation, the parliamentarians said.

However, they also warned against various Latvian political players exploiting intercommunity tensions for purely political purposes.

Around one-fifth of Latvia's resident population still possesses neither Latvian nor any other nationality, according to the report, although many of them were living in Latvia – with Soviet nationality – when the country became independent.

The adopted text will be available on <a href="http://assembly.coe.int">http://assembly.coe.int</a>

Link to the report

## 46 members

Albania
Andorra
Armenia
Austria
Azerbaijan
Belgium
Bosnia and
Herzegovina
Bulgaria
Croatia
Cvorus

Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Italy Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Malta Moldova

Monaco Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland

"The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine

United Kingdom