Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 618a06

Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax:+33 3 90 21 41 34 pace.com@coe.int

internet: www.coe.int/press

COUNCIL CONSEIL

DE L'EUROPE OF EUROPE

PACE delegation to observe constitutional referendum in Serbia

Albania Andorra Armenia Austria Azerbaijan Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina

46 members

Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic

Bulgaria

Denmark Estonia Finland France Georgia

Germany Greece Hungary

Iceland Ireland

Italy Latvia

Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxemboura

Malta Moldova Monaco Netherlands

Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia San Marino Serbia

Slovenia Spain Sweden

Slovakia

Switzerland "The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom Strasbourg, 19.10.2006 – A 19-member delegation from the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), headed by Alexander Fomenko (Russia, UEL), will observe the referendum on a new constitution taking place in Serbia on 28 and 29 October 2006.

The delegation, which has been invited to carry out the observation by the Secretary of the Republican Electoral Commission, will assess - within the framework of the Assembly's monitoring of Serbia – whether the conduct of the referendum is in line with Council of Europe standards.

On Thursday 26 and Friday 27 October the parliamentarians are due to meet election officials and representatives of the different regions of Serbia, as well as NGO and media representatives.

On Saturday 28 and Sunday 29, they will deploy around the country to observe the voting in a representative cross-section of polling stations.

The members of the delegation are:

Alexander Fomenko, head of the delegation

Socialist Group (SOC)

Sead Avdić Bosnia and Herzegovina

Elvira Cortaiarena Spain Piotr Gadzinowski Poland Pär Axel Sahlberg Sweden Zoltán Szabó Hungary

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

Pedro Agramunt Spain Andrzej Grzyb Poland Danuta Jazłowiecka Poland Mustafa Ilicali Turkey Andrea Rigoni Italy

Oliver Šambevski "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Helena Bargholtz Sweden United Kingdom Lord Russell-Johnston Jelleke Veenendaal Netherlands

Andrej Zernovsky "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia"

European Democrat Group (EDG)

Ruhi Acikgöz

Christopher Chope United Kingdom **Emmanuel Zingeris** Lithuania

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Alexander Fomenko Russian Federation There will be a press conference at 12 noon on Monday 30 October in the Majestic Hotel, Belgrade (Obilićev Venac 28, Belgrade 11000) at which the head of the delegation will announce the observers' preliminary conclusions. A full report will be submitted to the Assembly's Standing Committee, meeting in San Marino on 17 November 2006.

Contacts:

Angus Macdonald, PACE Communication Unit, mobile +33 (0)6 30 49 68 20. Aleksandra Tekijaski, Council of Europe Belgrade Office, mobile + 381 (0) 64 502 97 13.