Ress Release

Parliamentary Assembly Communication Unit

Ref: 536a06 Tel: +33 3 88 41 31 93 Fax :+33 3 90 21 41 34

pace.com@coe.int internet: www.coe.int/press

PACE to observe general elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Strasbourg, 27.09.2006 – A twenty-member delegation from the Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE), headed by Lord Russell-Johnston (United Kingdom, ALDE), will observe the general elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina on Sunday 1 October 2006.

The delegation, which will be in the country from 29 September to 2 October, will assess whether the elections meet international – and in particular Council of Europe – standards for democratic elections.

Members are due to meet electoral officials and representatives of the main political parties, as well as journalists and NGOs, before observing polling on the day of the vote.

The members of the delegation are: **Socialist Group (SOC)** Gülsun Bilgehan, Turkey Milos Jeftić, Serbia Ruth-Gaby Vermot-Mangold, Switzerland Maria Rosario Fatima Aburto, Spain Maria Josefa Porteiro Garcia, Spain Lydie Err, Luxembourg

Group of the European People's Party (EPP/CD)

Pedro Agramunt, Spain Urszula Gacek, Poland Lajla Pernaska, Albania Dušan Proroković, Serbia Mehmet Tekelioğlu, Turkey Egidijus Vareikis, Lithuania

Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE)

Morten Østergard, Denmark Johannes Randegger, Switzerland Lord Russell-Johnston, United Kingdom (head of delegation)

European Democrat Group (EDG)

Ruhi Açikgöz, Turkey Yuri Sharandin, Russian Federation

Group of the Unified European Left (UEL)

Alexander Fomenko, Russian Federation

The delegation is due to give its preliminary assessment at a **press conference on Monday 2 October at 1 p.m. (to be confirmed)**.

Contact on the spot : Bas Klein, PACE Secretariat, tel: +33(0)6 62 26 54 89.

President: René van der Linden (Netherlands, EPP/CD); Secretary General of the Assembly: Mateo Sorinas.

Political Groups: SOC (Socialist Group); EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); EDG (European Democratic Group); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left).



